My Social Experience

Over the course of the last three months, I have had the opportunity to not only enhance my leadership skills, but to expand my exposure to other leaders and their expertise. As an MBA student at the University of Nevada, Reno, I began a new process into social media. This is so outside of my comfort zone, and while the experience has been overwhelming at times, I am so grateful that the new techniques and skills I have learned will only help me improve who and how I lead.

blogI started blogging about my capabilities as a leader. My blogs include true life experiences, and I have been able to share both successes and failures. While I have no claims as an expert on the subject, I can say that this process has increased my awareness of my strengths, as well as given me a good idea of where I need to improve. While my blog has been slow to growth and recognition, I am happy to say I have five followers who are not in my immediate family or friend circle. Each of these followers has provided feedback that have helped me to improve how and what I write. I am excited to continue this journey as a blogger!

In addition to my blog, I became a Twitter member. I can honestly say I had no idea why Twitter was so popular! As I became more familiar with tweeting, signaling, and following, I found there is a vast array of expertise on any subject matter, not just leadership. I have been able to locate and follow some highly credentialed and motivated leaders, and found new ideas and insights into improving how I lead. tweet

My blog and my Twitter experience have given me a far better understanding of the growth of social media, as well as the far-reaching impact my social footprint can have. I now understand that to participate in social media, I have a personal responsibility to provide information that is useful to others. And my expectations of those that I follow are that they provide value to me and my personal brand, and continue to aid me in my own growth and development.

I would love to hear about your social footprint; feel free to share!

Image Credit

Image Credit

 

Leave a Reply

